Natalia Iwanek – Campaign Statement

Viewing 0 reply threads
  • Author
      Natalia Iwanek
      Participant

Hi everyone!

My name is Natalia Iwanek and I’ve recently moved back to Ontario after many years spent living and working all over southern, as well as northern, Alberta and BC.

I’m currently a third year Bachelor of English major and work as a copy editor, writer, and volunteer. In addition to AU, I’ve also attended York University and Simon Fraser University as well.

I returned to school as a mature student about three years ago. During my time at AU, I’ve tried to get as involved as possible in an online institution. I’m a weekly writer for our student newspaper, The Voice Magazine, as well as monthly AUSU Meeting Reporter. I cover diverse topics relating to online education, provincial and federal bills and legislations affecting students, as well as inclusivity and representation for underrepresented students, including those in ASD. (I’m the one constantly bothering everyone for their opinions!) I also recently started a new monthly column, in light of our cancelled Convocation, interviewing AU recent graduates and alums!

In my spare time, I’m a member of the Student Relations Committee for Editors Canada, Canada’s national editing organization, working to encourage new editors on their transition to the editing world. (On a personal level, I spend my free time outdoors and adore any sort of roadtrip. I’m also the world’s best perogie, dumpling, and empanada maker. Or so I’d like to think!)

I write a great deal about what type of work needs to be done on a provincial, as well as federal level. If elected, I would love to put this expertise and absolute passion toward change and creating inclusive and equitable environments for all students to use.