Stacey Hutchings

Viewing 0 reply threads
  • Author
      StaceyHutchings
      Participant

Hello, let me introduce myself, my name is Stacey. I am in my 3rd year of a Bachelor of Professional Arts in Governance, Law and Management. I can be quite passionate when it comes to social equality and social justice issues. I believe that unions are essential within democratic societies to ensure that all voices are heard, united, and can work together to see our needs are served.

I have lived in smaller northern community’s such as Fort St John, BC and Slave lake, AB to larger urban centres including Edmonton and Calgary, AB. Having lived in remote communities like Fort St John where resources are limited, I bring this perspective with me when I approach AU issues. I understand internet connections can be spotty, how hard it is to find proctors, even finding childcare, are all obstacles AU students face while completing their degrees.

All of these obstacles are issues that require more funds from a student to fix, but with rising tuition, these obstacles will soon become insurmountable for those who are already vulnerable. Education should and needs to be accessible and universal. AU prides itself on being ‘open’ and I think the AUSU student representatives need to strive to ensure it remains so. Education is key to furthering one’s self in our society, but with rising costs, those who will bear the brunt will be those already struggling, like single-mom and dad’s, immigrants, and indigenous populations. I want to represent AU students to ensure those voices are heard and taken into account before more tough decisions are made. Funding cuts shouldn’t have to be borne by the student; it is time institutions find other solutions.