Systemic Racism

Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author
      jmcf23
      Participant

Dadanast’ada (Hello to Each and Everyone of You),

Sizi Jo-Mary at’a. Sinajuna Crowchild-Fletcher at’a. Tsuut’ina Gooji ik’oholi guts’i istł’ini at’a. My name is Jo-Mary Crowchild-Fletcher, and my ancestors are Tsuut’ina, Siksika, Scottish, and French.
      I am a first year student at AU, currently in the BSc program.

1. How does the candidates plan on tackling the systemic issues that AU has in place (its a colonial institution, so there will be systemic racism)?
      2. Will there be extra training for the council members (new and current) on Indigenous people and the impacts of colonization?

None of the candidates acknowledged the traditional territories of the Indigenous people in their bios, and only one candidate is visually a BIPOC member.

3. One of the candidates mentioned something along the lines of response times from AU staff. How do they plan to go about that? Advocate for more staff to be hired, a new system to be put into place?

4. How do the candidates plan to advocate for lower tuition costs? This partially goes relates to my first questions as financial privilege is what often continues the assimilation of my people.

I look forward to hearing your answers. Good luck to the candidates.

Natalia Iwanek
      Participant

Hi Jo-Mary. These are really great questions. Thank you so much for bringing these topics up.

(You are also completely correct about the land acknowledgements; that it something that should always be included. I would like to acknowlege that I am currently writing from the traditional territory of the Mississaugas of the Credit, the Anishnabeg, the Chippewa, the Haudenosaunee, and the Wendat peoples.)